honkytonkfoodie

Formal Events vs. Honky Tonks

In Honky Tonk on 12/10/2011 at 6:30 pm

Last night, I attended a fancy holiday party for work.  It was at a very nice hotel, with a wide assortment of beer and people being generally classy.  Tonight, I will be attending a show at a honky tonk.  The joint is old, the beer selection is relatively limited and at least one person will step on my boot.

First the similarities of these two events:

  1. Loud music
  2. Social awkwardness
  3. Cleavage
  4. Tipsy women
  5. My boots

That is about it.  The company party was an obligation which involved dragging my hubs and refraining from making commentary (within earshot anyway), while tonight, I am leaving my space-heater warmed home on the range, and driving in the cold and rain to hear a band I can’t recall a single song I know.

What is my point?

You can’t force fun.  Honky tonking is good for the soul.  Support your local one today!

And now, a gratuitous picture for you visual people.

Imperfection karma claim: Martha Stewart has been hit by lightening three times.

Leave a Reply

