honkytonkfoodie

To the Rodeo and Back

In Food, Volunteer Events on 02/07/2010 at 11:33 am

Saturday I participated in my last two rodeo events of the year: a 1.6 mile walk/ Stampede and volunteering at the Fajita Corral.

The walk was an enjoyable jaunt with friends, the highlights being the exercise to justify my early morning chorizo/potato and bean/cheese/bacon tacos and the free Lone Star Light at the finish line.  There nothing quite like quick walking in the cool morning sunshine with enjoyable company to a finish line stocked with beer and sausage wraps (due to the aforementioned tacos, I did not imbibe on sausage, which as loyal readers know, can potentially ruin my day).

After a quick nap and lunch, I headed back to the grounds to volunteer with two buds at the Fajita Corral.  Stationed at the execution point, I drifted between making beef fajita, brisket and chicken fajita tacos but mostly created chicken.  Something to the tune of over 2,000 apparently.  That’s Meat Grab, Pinch the tortilla, Roll into the foil, Tuck ends and Pass.  Making this many tacos requires the basics of busy: standing for 5.5 hours, bathroom breaks which require sneaking out and a line of people continuously out the door.  This was by far one of the most organized events I have volunteered and all the committee members were very appreciative.  Ultimately my only complaint, minus the screaming feet and lower back, was the confusion with volunteer food.  We made a WHOLE LOT of tacos yet no one could tell us if we could have one or if we had to pay/wait in line or received a (measly) dollar discount.  I did really enjoy the people and fully support the scholarship behind it.

Needless to say, Saturday was busy and fun and now its Sunday so I’m hibernating and writing my blog (two posts, yeah!).

I-guess-I-have-to-quit-saying-its-Sarah trivia:  Muhammad is the most common given name in the world.

Leave a Reply

