honkytonkfoodie

A Dollar for Your Thoughts

In Honky Tonk on 01/04/2010 at 4:21 pm

Arkey’s Silver Dollar Saloon, locally known as The Dollar, is a throwback to the heyday of Texas swing and one of my favorite places to drink a beer with friends.  It is in a basement under main street in Bandera, TX and features a tin ceiling, sawdust dance floor and a beer/wine only, cash only bar.  I’ve lost count of the good time evenings had here chatting, dancing with random people, turning down dancing with random people and listening to Arkey’s crazy stories.  The atmosphere is consistently friendly, whether the majority of the crowd are bikers, locals or Houston hunters.  Vivian, Peggy and Cathy make that place home for me.  Here are just a few pictures:

See how happy I am??  Ahhhhh.

Disturbing resolution-keeping fact: Eating a bag of chips a day is equivalent to drinking five liters of cooking oil a year.

  1. Standin’ down on Main Street
    Across from Mr. Blues
    In my faded leather jacket
    And my weathered Brogan shoes
    A chill north wind was blowin’
    But the spring was comin’ on
    As I wondered to myself
    Just how long I had been gone

    So I strolled across old Main Street
    Walked down a flight of stairs
    Stepped into the hall
    And saw all my friends were there
    A neon sign was flashin’ “Welcome come on in”
    It feels so good feelin’ good again

  2. Hey Sarah,

    Allison just sent me this link! Honky Tonkin’ Silver Dollar style was great!!!! Luv the pics!!!!

    Happy New Year — we missed the gang!!

Leave a Reply

